PH women's volleyball team for SEA Games 2023 lineup, schedule & updates

GNews Staff

The Philippine National Volleyball Federation has released the player list that it hopes to get its women's and men’s team from that will see action in the Phnom Penh Southeast Asian Games.

Alyssa Valdez will soon return to action as she has been named the team captain of the national women's volleyball squad for the 32nd Southeast Asian Games this May in Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

The veteran outside spiker, who has been inactive due to an injury, will banner a 14-woman squad that also features her Creamline teammates in Jia De Guzman, Michele Gumabao, Jema Galanza, Kyla Atienza, Ced Domingo, and recently-crowned conference MVP Tots Carlos.

Also on the team coached by Brazilian Jorge Edson Souza De Brito are Cignal’s Maria Angelica Cayuna and Glaudine Troncoso, PLDT’s Kathleen Faith Arado, and PLDT's Dell Palomata (PLDT), Choco Mucho’s Cherry Rose Nunag and Katrina Mae Tolentino; and Chery Tiggo’s Mylene Paat.

Meanwhile, Vince Mangulabnan will skipper the men's squad as Joshua Umandal, Lloyd Josafat, Kim Dayandante, Vince Patrick Lorenzo, Jayvee Sumagaysay, Rwenzmel Taguibolos , Leo Ordiales, Manuel Sumanguid , Jade Disquitado, and Jay Rack Dela Noche will join him.

Rounding out the men's crew are Filipino-Americans Steven Charles Rotter, Cyrus Justin De Guzman, and Michael Raymund Vicente. They will be coached by another Brazilian in Sergio Valadares Veloso.

“These teams are composed of perhaps the most formidable rosters to date with each and everyone of these athletes dedicated and determined to rise to the challenge in Cambodia,” PNVF president Ramon “Tats” Suzara said. “With the skills given and dedication to flag and country considered, our coaches put premium on chemistry, on how these players would blend based on the competitions and challenges of the SEA Games."

Sisi Rondina and Jovelyn Gonzaga will headline the women;s beach volleyball team alongside Bernadeth Pons and Floremel Rodriguez.

Ranran Abdilla, Jaron Requinton, Jude Garcia, and James Buytrago make up the men’s team of the beach volleyball squads coached by Joao Luciano Simao Barbosa.


Post a Comment

Post a Comment (0)